“SENATE” refers to the highest academic decision-making body of the University. The Senate is responsible to the Council in all academic matters.



  1. Making recommendation for admission of candidates into courses of study;
  2. Approving Academic Calendar
  3. Appointment of external examiners
  4. Organization of Faculties, Departments and Centres and assigning to them their respective subjects
  5. Formulation of regulations governing the conditions of award of degrees, diplomas and certificates by Faculties and other academic units of the University
  6. Promotion of teaching, learning and research in the University
  7. Advising and assisting the Vice Chancellor in all academic matters


 Senate Membership consists of:

  1. Vice Chancellor (Chairman)
  2. Deputy Vice Chancellor(s)
  3. University Librarian
  4. Deans of Faculties
  5. Directors of Academic Departments/Units/Centres
  6. All Professors on Seat
  7. Director of General Studies
  8. Faculty representatives
  9. Representative of Congregation


In attendance:

  1. Bursar
  2. Director, ICT
  3. Administrative Directors


The Vice Chancellor serves as the Chairman of the Senate; while the Registrar serves as the Secretary.