The Vice Chancellor

Professor Mohammed L. Ahmodu
Professor Mohammed L. Ahmadu

Rayhaan University, Birnin Kebbi has appointed Professor Mohammed Lawal Ahmadu to serve as the pioneer Vice Chancellor. He comes to the university with over three decades of national and international academic, research and administrative experience. Rayhaan University is an ICT driven academic, research and learning environment licensed by the National Universities Commission to commence academic activities with 15 programs.

Rayhaan University, Birnin Kebbi looks forward to attracting students who will major in the different approved fields of learning and at the end graduate and molded both in both theory and practice of their respective academic disciplines. Rayhaan University also hopes to work closely with local and international stakeholders, prospective parents and guardians and more importantly students- who choose the University as a destination of study.

The newly appointed pioneer Vice Chancellor is a Professor of Law with research interests in information technology, commercial, corporate and human rights laws. He was Professor of Law and Director of the Institute of Justice and Applied Legal Studies at the University of the South Pacific, School of Law in Oceania where he served for over 14 years. Professor Ahmadu has also served as the Special Assistant to the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on Research and Special duties based at the Office of the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice from 2020 to 2023. Amongst others, he is a Chartered Company Secretary [UK]; and served as Legal Officer in the Attorney General’s Chambers in the Republic of Fiji Islands in the South Pacific. In addition to other academic and professional qualifications, Professor Ahmadu holds a Master of Laws Degree from the University of Warwick in the United Kingdom, a Graduate Certificate in Tertiary Teaching and the PhD in Law from the University of the South Pacific in Oceania. He served as a Consultant to the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and many other United Nations bodies in the South Pacific.