Pro-Chancellor and Governing Council


The ‘’COUNCIL’’ is the governing body of the University, responsible for the conduct of all areas of business and the strategic development and overall achievement of the University’s mission. It is in charge of policy formulation as well as general superintendence of the finances of the University.


This includes, among other things, approving the university’s annual budget, supervising staff recruiting and promotion, approving new academic programs, and ensuring that the university functions in accordance with its goal and objectives. The nomination and appointment of Vice Chancellor and other principal officers of the University is one of the Council’s important tasks.

At present, the following are members of the Governing Council

  1. (Dr.) Abubakar Malami, SAN, CON (Pro-Chancellor and Chairman)
  2. Vice Chancellor (Ex Officio)
  3. Librarian (Ex Officio)
  4. Professor Isa Ali Ibrahim Pantami, CON (External Member)
  5. Ibrahim Usman Yakasai (External Member)
  6. Bar Abdulaziz Malami (External Member)
  7. Engr. Abirurahman Malami (External Member)
  8. Mal Abubakar Ladan (External Member)
  9. NUC Representative (External Member)
  10. FMoE Representative (External Member)
  11. Representative of Kebbi State MHE (External Member)
  12. Senate Representative (Internal Member)
  13. Congregation Representative (Internal Member)
  14. Bursar (In attendance)
  15. Registrar (Secretary)